Guess who’s cranky

Raging hormones aside, I’m just not very happy today. And I know exactly what it is: my mother-in-law is coming to visit.

Now, Costa Rica is tiny. Tiiiiiiiiiny. Smaller than most states in the US. We’re only 4 million Costa Ricans. So, as you can see, I just can’t think of a reason for her to sleep over at my place. MY. PLACE. Where I’m trying to spend time alone with my husband before we have a baby in 3 months. Where we walk around naked and have sex at any time we goddamn want now that my belly isn’t humongous yet. Now that we can still sleep the whole night.

We’re still newlyweds, my husband and I. We’ve been married for 4 months. So is it so abnormal for me to want to be alone with him at home, dammit!?

I mean, the trip from my MIL’s house to our house takes 1.5 hours by bus, and 20 minutes by cab. So why in all hell does she want to sleep over if she can come by at around lunchtime and leave early in the evening, and still drive me nuts?

Because, of course, she’s a walking cliché. She’s passive-agressive, and a huge hipocrit. Michael only exists when she needs money, or when it’s a) her birthday, b) mother’s day, or c) Christmas. She will actually call him and say “This is what you’re giving me for (insert special occasion)” and then proceed to ask for stuff or money, hang up the phone, forget about him until it’s time to get the present, and then forget about him again until the next special occasion.

And I don’t know if that’s just me, but I don’t think that’s the ideal relationship to have with mom. Especially if you live so damn close. I mean, she doesn’t even call him on his birthday. I, for one, don’t spend one day without calling my mom or something. I know, that might seem a little (ha!) weird too, but we live on the same block and I’ve been mommy’s and daddy’s little girl my whole life. I didn’t move out of my parents’ house until I got married, and even after that my parents complain if I don’t come over every day so they can see their daughter and granddaughter.

Of course I don’t expect everyone to be that close to their parents. But this thing, this MIL coming to visit just stinks of “I’m coming to get my mother’s day present and, while I’m at it, see how she’s keeping your house”. Because of course, she doesn’t work OR study, so she’s got all day to clean, iron, cook, do laundry, et cetera. And I don’t. But she doesn’t give a crap. So as soon as she sets foot at my house she starts doing chores: “This needs to be cleaned”, “Looks like you need me to do some laundry”, “I better iron some of Michael’s clothes”. And of course Michael just makes those My-mommy’s-so-amazing eyes I cannot stand. And I look like an inefficient slob.

Okay. I guess I just needed to vent. I’ll tell you how it goes after she leaves. Which I hope happens soon.

And she hasn’t even come yet.

5 Comments »

  1. K. Said:

    Count your lucky stars. Your MIL could be planning to stay for a damn MONTH – which is what mine did. Feel any better? 😉

  2. Shana Said:

    Hey, Lily, how are you doing?

  3. Pao Said:

    Well, leaving comments on the new blog… i am still a bit confused about the whole moving blogs thing…

    About you dearest MIL… sorry. But hey at least she is not yourmother, right. Because you have an excellent one, right!

  4. O wow, that sounds like it sucks! I’m glad my boyfriend’s mom isn’t that way. I wish you all the best!

  5. u05eau05d5u05d3u05d4, u05deu05e7u05d5u05d5u05d4 u05e9u05d4u05e1u05d5u05e3 u05deu05e7u05d9u05d9u05dd Click http://s.intmainreturn0.com/bayy091615


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Leave a Reply

