Updating! Not that anyone cares, or anything.

First of all, Finals. Hate. Woe. Aaaaargghhhh! I need a break from school.

I’m in the last week of this period, so I haven’t been able to update, mainly because I’ve been working less hours so I can study and, guess what? Still no internet at home.

I tell you, I need to get internet at home before I go on maternity leave, or those are going to be the longest 4 months of my life. 4 months. A first-time mom. No internet. A recipe for disaster.

Maybe I shouldn’t complain, because here in Costa Rica pregnant women get 4 monts FULLY PAID maternity leave –1 month before giving birth and 3 months after. So that’s pretty good, right? The only problem is I KNOW I’m not going to want to go back to work after Camila’s here. I’ll have to do it, but I sure as hell am not going to like it.

So I wonder how other women have coped with this whole going back to work thing. Because, you see, I’m not surrounded by many moms who work. I have 3 friends –all my age +/- 1 year– who have children ages 2 months to 3 years old, and none of them work. My mom didn’t work when we were little, except for a couple of reeeeally short attempts. So I haven’t actually been around a woman who had to go through the process of leaving her child(ren) with someone else to go back to work.

Is there anyone out there who can share some thoughts with me on the subject? I mean, I’ve still got 4 months of my pregnancy plus the whole maternity leave to go, but the drama queen in me just can’t help but get a head start on the thoughts of woe and disaster and DOOM and Idon’twanttoleavemybabysomeonepleasehelpmeohmygod.

See why I’m going to need and internet connection?

3 Comments »

  1. Lil' Liberal Said:

    Hm. A lot of women find it a *relief* to get back to work. So you might be one of the lucky ones that feels that way.

    Here in the US, we get 2 weeks unpaid maternity leave. Or something like that. Genius, eh?

    Sorry I can’t answer your question as to how other women do it. I’ve never been there, myself. And my mom didn’t work until I was in 3rd grade.

    Your employer doesn’t offer “telecommute” options, or anything like that? Or flex-time which would be part-time telecommute part-time onsite?

  2. Lilly Said:

    Telecommute just does not exist here in Costa Rica, which transcends the borders of suckiness. Of course, if they offered it I’d take it in a heartbeat, but work here is done the traditional way: you get up in the morning, go to work, and then leave in the afternoon; all this while my precious baby stays at my mom’s. Ew. Just ew.

    And 2 weeks UNPAID??!! Well, I guess I just found the bright side to living in Costa Rica. That, and the cheapest medicine ever. Like free.

  3. auliss Said:

    Well, For sure I can tell you one thing. Everything is going to be alright. I know is hard at first, but eg my mother get back to work as soon as I have 3 months, I don’t want to be negative, but she feel pain in her breast everytime I was hungry, and at that time, she used public buses and she worked more than 50 hours per week. But she says that at the end of the day, she always feel great when, at home, she feed me and listen to me, and on freetime she were as much time as possible with me. Besides, is a liberating thing to work, that way you can distratc a bit from your rutine, and don’ t be a desesperade house wife. TRUST ME. Finally I thing is allways good to have extra bucks, and I’ m pretty sure Camila will be in good hands with her grantmother. Do not worry ma friend. Concentrate in live as good as you can your pregnancy and then when the times come, you’ll see.


{ RSS feed for comments on this post}

Leave a Reply

